Organization of UPEC

Published on December 14, 2010 Updated on July 23, 2020

With 32 000 students and 15 units, UPEC is the largest multidisciplinary and vocational university within Ile-de-France. 13% of our students come from over 118 foreign countries.

Founded in 1970, it quickly developed around its 12 UFRs (teaching and research units) and institutes, spread over five towns (mainly Créteil) of  Ile-de-France region, in the counties of Val-de-Marne and Seine-et-Marne.

The university has successfully united a range of disciplines which offer an exceptional program of education (ranging from technology diplomas to doctorates) and houses 31 laboratories covering almost every available field.

In 2007, the university took an important further step :

by integrating the IUFM (teacher training institution) into the Créteil Academy which became the 12th faculty of the university through founding membership of UPEC.

by becoming a member of the “Université Paris-Est” Higher Education and Research Cluster, along with Paris Est Marne la Vallée University, the ENPC (School of Civil Engineering), the LCPC (Civil Engineering Central Laboratory) and ESIEE-Paris (engineering school).
This means that these establishments combine forces mainly in the area of research and doctoral schools.

How UPEC is structured
UPEC is :
a democratic entity in its governance that engages all the key stake holders (students, staff, partner organizations) in discussions relating to it operations and its future development.
an administrative entity that operates to facilitate the goals of the university,
makes available procedures and tools to ensure optimal outcomes,
insists on highest quality service delivery.

Faculties, Schools and Institutes
7 UFRs, also called faculties
UFR of Humanities and Human Sciences
UFR of Administration and International Trade
UFR of Law
UFR of Science and Technology
UFR of Economics and Management
UFR of Medicine
UFR of SESS -STAPS (Sporting and Physical Activity Techniques and Sciences,
Social Sciences and Educational Sciences)

9 Institutes & Schools
IUT (Technological University Institute) of Créteil-Vitry
IUT of Sénart-Fontainebleau
Paris School of Urban Planning (EUP)
IAE (Gustave Eiffel Business and Administration Institute)
Occupational Therapy Training Institute
School of Teaching and Education (ESPÉ)
IPAG (Preparation for General Administration Institute)
ESM- School of Health Care Management & Research
Engineering School (ESIPE-Créteil)

6 doctorate schools, Paris-Est University (presented by scientific department)
Cultures and Society
Organizations, markets, institutions
City, transport and territories
Mathematics and STIC
Health and life sciences
Science, engineering, environment